back in the ‘burg

Ryan surprised me with a trip last weekend – he told me to pack my bags on Friday and we were leaving after Jenna’s graduation on Saturday. I had no idea where we were going. At first I thought Asheville and then I started thinking about Chapel Hill and then I started thinking maybe Blacksburg? So he assured me it “is not a college town.” Though I guess that was just his effort at keeping it a surprise cause when you start heading up North from Greensboro, there are not many other places to go..Ā  To his defense, we spent the first night at a B&B in Roanoke, VA. It was so nice to get away, just the two of us, and relax a little bit. I’m terrible at relaxing at home because I constantly feel like I need to be cleaning/vacuuming/doing yard work, etc. I get that from my Mom!

We stayed at Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast. It’s run by an extremely nice lady named Wendy and her dog Loxi, originally from San Diego and just fell in love with Virginia.Ā  She took very good care of us.

It felt SO GOOD to be back in Blacksburg. We were both almost giddy on the drive from Roanoke to Blacksburg the next day because it brought back so many memories. I don’t think I realized how much I loved those rolling green hills and old farmhouses and then the hokie stone! I think we need some of that incorporated into our house.. somehow.

This is the new theatre building for those of you who have not been back in a while, its on the corner of college ave. and draper.

The place of of our first date!

Every time we go back, so much has changed, yet so much is still just how we left it. It made me miss our carefree days in college but I’m so thankful those are memories we can look back on fondly and share. I recharged my batteries and am thankful we only live 2.5 hours from Blacksburg (closer than I lived in college). Thank you husband for planning this getaway for me, it was needed.

3 Comments

Filed under hokies, Mackie, travel

3 responses to “back in the ‘burg

  1. Tripp

    Very cool! I can’t wait for Allie and me to make it back that way. Who knows when that’ll be though.

  2. That’s awesome! It’s so cool that you guys can go back to the place of your first date and your carefree days šŸ™‚ I’m happy that you had a relaxing getaway! Oh and once you become a mom that feeling of “there is always something to do/ get done” thing gets worse LOL! Thomas has to tell me to stop cleaning and sit down lol šŸ™‚ As always love the pics!

  3. We just drove through our old “college town” as well, and it brought back such wonderful memories. The nostalgia was almost overwhelming! I’m so grateful for those precious years! (And isn’t getting away with the husband grand? It’s one of my favorite things.)

Leave a Reply

