Goodbye Oprah

I have to say, I am going to miss Oprah.  Oprah has been around for as long as I can remember (her show has literally been around for the number of years I have been alive) and though I have not watched her religiously, I feel like she has been a part of my life growing up. She was on the TV many days after I got home from school from a young age up through high school, in college and even now that I’m married and get home a little earlier than the usual working crowd.

I just finished watching the finale of her show and I think she summed it up beautifully, no fancy gift-giving, no special guests, just a heartfelt thank you to her fans and those that inspired and taught her throughout her life. Even her fourth grade teacher was present. And she ended her show with the sentence, “To God be the Glory,” which made it a little sweeter in my eyes.

I am thankful to Oprah for using her fame in a positive way – she is a rare breed for that. I’m thankful that she was not afraid to bring light to certain situations that so desperately needed light shed on them, like sexual abuse, women’s rights and raising consciousness about the war going on in our country right now and the military families involved. I’m thankful that she inspires people around the world to be the best of themselves they can be – to not be afraid to follow their dreams and passions, to intentionally give hope to someone who needs hope. And I am thankful that she recognized and thanked God, because she is right, her life story was not a coincidence.  What’s the secret to “The Oprah Winfrey Show’s” success? “I say my team, and Jesus,” Oprah tells the audience. “Nothing but the hand of God.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Mackie, television, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

