Where we have been..

Two weeks ago, my dear friend Ashima came to visit me.  We met in the 8th grade in Mrs. Gastrell’s Science Class. We passed notes across the table and my mom would drop us off at [sketchy] Springfield mall on the weekends. We have always stayed in touch but really reconnected when I lived back in Springfield the year after I graduated college. She helped me plan my wedding and faithfully met me at the gym every night to work out catch up on our day. She is the definition of a loyal friend and I am convinced everyone needs a friend like her.

She got here Friday after a delayed flight and we went to lunch at Printworks followed by a pedicure. Sometimes when you have a boy roommate, you need days like this. Days to talk about your skincare routine, your nail polish color, the latest chick flicks and the wedges you want for Summer. And that’s exactly what we did.

On Saturday, we headed to Durham for a Taste Carolina food tour. If you are local, you have got to go on one of these, they are a lot of fun & include a lot of yummy food. We had never really explored Durham much before, but it turned out to be a pretty cool city. [Hint Hint Meg & Pete]

One of the best parts of our trip to Durham, and not even included on the food tour, were these fries we randomly bought from a food truck [because obviously we needed more food after a 3 hour food tour]. Durham has a ton of these, another reason it’s an awesome city. They were sweet potato fries sprinkled with garam masala with a chili garlic mayo to dip them in. OMG. Ashima and I are still drooling over them and texting each other about them. I am going to convince Ryan to recreate them. I wish we had taken a picture – but I think we inhaled them between the 3 of us. We had a great weekend and because Ashima sent a complaint to United Airlines about her delayed flight and they sent her a $150 gift certificate, hopefully I am sure she will be back again soon!

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Friends, Life, Mackie

One response to “Where we have been..

  1. Ashima

    aww. i had soo much fun with you guys! can’t wait to plan another visit (sending that complaint letter was such a good idea)! miss you!

Leave a Reply

