Easter Weekend

I hope you had a Happy Easter. We went to my parent’s house for the weekend and it was not nearly long enough. It is a hard place to leave. I am already anxious to return.

Even though I have never lived in South Carolina for more than a summer at a time, it always feels like “home” to me.  And the palmettos and live oaks with their Spanish moss just make my heart happy.

We decided, for some unknown reason, that it would be a good idea to take our monster with us. He proved to be extremely neurotic the entire weekend, hyperventilating outside the door staring at us (my mom doesn’t let animals inside the upper floors of the house). The poor thing has terrible separation anxiety – but we have no idea what to do to soothe him. Any suggestions?? We had to zip-tie him in his crate at night with about 20 zip ties. He is inside at night (downstairs) – just not in the same room as us. What a monster.

My parents happened to score an awesome tandem kayak (that matches the tandem bike!) off of craigslist while we were down there. We got to test it out first and it was so much fun and easy to manuever. Next time I may bring a camera with me when we take it out because you can go through little creeks in the marsh that you would never be able to get down in a boat. I’m sure there will be lots more kayak trips in the near future.

My mama impressed me with her new garden. She has quite the green thumb! Hopefully she can pass along some of these skills to me considering I have killed cacti, succulents and rosemary bushes this year, 3 pretty hard plants to kill.

My family definitely knows how to eat. Ryan can vouch for that. They think since he is so big (tall), he is kind of the disposal. He usually is offered (forced) into eating seconds and usually thirds. Typical Southern family. Don’t ask what he is doing in this photo.

That is 4 generations right there. Pretty cool, huh? Little JT (Jonathan Tanner) is the newest member of our clan and he is VERY loved. He belongs to my cousin Rachael and her husband David. We are blessed. I hope you all had a Happy Easter and I will leave you with this quote that my father-in-law passed along to me:

“I still can’t help wondering how we can explain away what to me is the greatest miracle of all and which is recorded in history. No one denies there was such a man, that he lived and that he was put to death by crucifixion. Where … is the miracle I spoke of? Well consider this and let your imagination translate the story into our own time — possibly to your own home town. A young man whose father is a carpenter grows up working in his father’s shop. One day he puts down his tools and walks out of his father’s shop. He starts preaching on street corners and in the nearby countryside, walking from place to place, preaching all the while, even though he is not an ordained minister. He never gets farther than an area perhaps 100 miles wide at the most. He does this for three years. Then he is arrested, tried and convicted. There is no court of appeal, so he is executed at age 33 along with two common thieves. Those in charge of his execution roll dice to see who gets his clothing — the only possessions he has. His family cannot afford a burial place for him so he is interred in a borrowed tomb. End of story? No, this uneducated, property-less young man has, for 2,000 years, had a greater effect on the world than all the rulers, kings, emperors; all the conquerors, generals and admirals, all the scholars, scientists and philosophers who have ever lived — all of them put together. How do we explain that — unless He really was what He said He was?” –President Ronald Reagan (1911-2004)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Easter Weekend

  1. Kit

    looks like a perfect weekend 🙂 Though, I did have to laugh about zip-tying charlie in his kennel. Definitely sounds like a Nathan move–he believes zip-ties can fix everything. If it’s any encouragement, Cooper used to have bad separation anxiety when he was younger–he eventually grew out of it, so hopefully Charlie will too 🙂

  2. Great pics! I love the one of the tiny frog lol and the 4 generation pic! I also really enjoyed the quote at the end, such a wonderful expression of God’s love! 🙂

  3. Aunt kathy

    I LOVED reading about Easter weekend in Chechessie and seeing all the pictures! Thanks for sharing!!! I miss you guys-

  4. Isn’t going home the best? (And we made the mistake of taking our normally sweet-dispositioned dog to my husband’s parents’ house one weekend, and guess what? Never again, lol! It was disaster! Dog-sitters from now on!)

Leave a Reply

