The End of Summer

I can’t believe this summer is over. It flew by so incredibly fast. Thankfully it was packed with a lot of fun trips to see friends and family, a lot of great summer foods like berries and watermelon (with salt) and ice cream! yes, lots of homeade ice cream. I’m excited for fall (football season!) and sweaters and boots but not really ready to say goodbye to warm nights and sundresses quite yet.  In my nostalgia, I’ll share with you a recipe from the early months of summer.

This recipe was adapted from Martha, naturally. She is one of my favorite resources for delicious, fairly simple baking recipes. The puff-pastry is frozen/store-bought – so this is a very quick and pretty tart. Martha recommends Dufour puff pastry – but I think I used pepperidge farm because I couldn’t find dufour.

The recipe is located here. Martha uses apricots and blackberries in her tart, but I used rhubarb and blackberries. I suppose you could use whatever is available. I tasted Rhubarb for the first time at Chez Panisse Cafe in Berkeley, CA in a strawberry-rhubarb tart back in May. And I fell in love. Rhubarb tastes kind of ..sour, for lack of a better word. Sour in a good way. However, I did macerate the rhubarb in a little sugar before using it in the tart.

 

My friend Megan came to visit this weekend from NYC. I’m not quite sure how I convinced her to come to lil ol’ Greensboro – but I’m pretty sure she just must love me a lot or something… 🙂

 

We went on a food tour of Carrboro, NC – right next to Chapel Hill through Taste Carolina food tours and I highly recommend it. Especially if you’re into food and eating local/organic. Or even if you’re not – it’s still pretty interesting & tasty.

Yummy cheese tasting from Chapel Hill Creamery..

An amazing squash and basil casserole from Acme. Meg will back me up on this one..

Delicious and healthy smoothies from Carrboro Raw..

Our tour guide, Joe, was great and totally laid back and made the whole thing very enjoyable. Here we are at the Carrboro Beverage Co.

 

Enjoy the last few days of summer!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The End of Summer

  1. Meagan Page

    I love Carrboro! I did a film there once.

  2. Mackie

    We love it too! If you’re ever there again, let us know!

  3. Jill

    Hey Mackie!

    I love this post, such great pics!! I’m a novice chef these days so i’ll have to try this recipe 🙂 Thanks for posting!

    p.s. you’re just as gorgeous as always 🙂

  4. aw thank you jill 🙂 expect many more recipes to come.. thats about all we do around here..

    Oh, and Amelia is beautiful! And I love her name 🙂

Leave a Reply

