It doesn’t get much better than this..

I spent my birthday last weekend at my parents house on the river – not only is it beautiful there, but it holds a special place in my heart. My family has been vacationing on this same street since my grandparents were teenagers, my wedding was here a little over a year ago and hopefully, one day, my kids will spend their summers on this river. The only thing bad about it is our time there is never long enough!

We brought Charlie this time and he got to meet his cousin, Chesty, for the first time. I’m pretty sure they enjoyed romping together and doing lots of dog things.

We enjoyed dinner on the dock Friday night. My grandpa cooked up a Lowcountry Boil. For those of you that are missing out, a Lowcountry Boil is a southern tradition that consists of corn on the cob, sausage and shrimp cooked together with a good amount of Old Bay.

On Saturday, the boys celebrated my birthday by catching me a load of shrimp! And I somehow got out of peeling them (I think it was the whole birthday thing..) My Uncle, who we call Uncle Buzz, fried them all up for dinner. And we fried more than all of us could even finish..

My parents call their house “River Time,” because they say when you’re there, you’re on River Time where time slows down and your regular schedule dissapears and there is no need to rush but just relax and do whatever you feel like doing. We had a wonderful time with family and I don’t think I would have wanted to spend my birthday any other way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

